Elections & Voter Registration

Voting in Anoka County

The Anoka County Office of Elections and Voter Registration provides voter registration and election administration for federal, state and county elections. Key duties include:

  • Process voter registration applications
  • Program/print ballots and test voting equipment
  • Issue and count all absentee ballots
  • Train and certify city, township and school district local election officials
  • Compile election results and conduct post-election audits

Voter Information 101

The League of Women Voters, in cooperation with QCTV Community Television, recently sat down with Tom Hunt, Anoka County Elections manager, to create educational videos about voting and elections. These short videos cover topics like serving as an election judge and the security of voting machines to voter registration and absentee voting. 

2024 Elections - Important Dates

DATE TIME EVENT
Thursday, February 8 2 p.m. Presidential Nomination Primary Public Accuracy Testing
Saturday, February 10 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall - Canceled
Tuesday, February 13 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Columbia Heights Special Election Has Been Canceled
Wednesday, February 14 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. First day to file affidavits of candidacy for House District 27B
Thursday, February 15 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Last Day to file affidavits of candidacy for House District 27B
Friday, February 16 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Last day to file affidavits of withdrawal for House District 27B
Friday, February 23 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Begin in-person and mail absentee voting for the 27B State Rep Special Primary Election
Saturday, February 24 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Monday, February 26 9 a.m. Preliminary and Public Accuracy Testing for the 27B State Rep Primary Election
Wednesday, February 28 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Absentee voting at the Govt Center or your City Hall
Thursday, February 29 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. 27B State Rep Special Primary Election Day at your polling place
Saturday, March 2 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Monday, March 4 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Tuesday, March 5 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Presidential Nomination Primary Election Day at your polling place
Tuesday, March 5 Time Varies Ballot Board - Government Center 
Tuesday, March 12 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Begin in-person and mail absentee voting for the 27B State Rep Special Election
Friday, March 15 9 a.m. Preliminary and Public Accuracy Testing for the 27B State Rep Election
Saturday, March 16 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Monday, March 18 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Tuesday, March 19 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. 27B State Rep Special Election Day at your polling place
Friday, June 28 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Begin in-person and mail absentee voting for the State Primary Election
Saturday, August 10 TBD Deadline to complete Public Accuracy Testing for the State Primary Election
Saturday, August 10 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Monday, August 12 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Tuesday, August 13 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. State Primary Election Day at your polling place
Tuesday, August 13 Time Varies Ballot Board - Government Center 
Friday, September 20 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Begin in-person and mail absentee voting for the November Presidential Election
Saturday, October 26 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Tuesday, October 29 8 a.m. - 7 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Saturday, November 2 TBD Deadline to complete Public Accuracy Testing for the Presidential Election
Saturday, November 2 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Sunday, November 3 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Monday, November 4 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Absentee voting at Govt Center or your City Hall
Tuesday, November 5 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Presidential Election Day at your polling place
Tuesday, November 5 Time Varies Ballot Board - Government Center

Click here for full 2024 Election Calendar

Click here for more information about Election Integrity and Security.